The Final Countdown by Julia Brown

So much to do and so little time!

It’s t-minus two days till I depart on my transatlantic flight to Paris, and yet there’s still so much to be done. My bags are pretty much packed, Euros are waiting to be picked up at the bank, I’ve been searching everywhere for an outlet converter for my laptop, and I am still waiting on my International Student ID Card to arrive by mail, yikes!

Everything is happening so fast… It feels like just yesterday I applied for this trip, and now it’s finally here. Where did the time go? Pre-departure jitters have definitely started to set it, but I am excited. I’ve been spending every spare moment going over my French Survival Phrases sheet that includes helpful phrases like ‘Parlez-vous anglais?’ and ‘Je suis perdue,’ meaning ‘Do you speak English’ and ‘I am lost,’ which I’m sure will come in handy.

Wednesday night (Dec 2) at 6:08 I fly from Columbus to Philadelphia, and then I am off on a 7 hour and 30 minute flight from Philly to France. When we arrive, my group and I will be staying at the Hotel du Levant, a family-run hotel right in the middle of the famous Latin Quarter of the city. In the mornings we will be going to various museums and historical places, while the rest of the day will be open for free time. I found a great website: A Student’s Guide to Paris, listing music venues, shopping areas, and even where to eat on a budget! We will be taking tours through the Notre Dame Cathedral, the Chateau de Versailles, and down The Seine River. I am most excited to the top of the Eiffel Tower, to see The Winged Victory of Samothrace at the Louvre, and my favorite artist Edgar Degas’ collection of dancer paintings and sculptures at Musée d’Orsay.

Are you ready for an inside look into Paris, France? I hope so.

Au Revoire!

**Julia is on her way to France right now. Let’s hope the plane food and free movies are good for her sake!

Leave a Reply

