1 Month Down by Ben Holschuh

Wow, looks like I’ve been doing pretty poorly with this whole blog thing.  It’s been crazy trying to keep up with all my homework as well as all the other things my friends keep wanting me to go do, so this post is going to be kind of a doozy.

Though classes are still tough I have plenty of time to hang out with friends and do fun things.  The Japanese students here are all really understanding of my complete lack of skill in their language, and do their best to help me whenever they can.  I’ve already made some pretty close bonds despite the gigantic language barrier, which is something I definitely did not expect to happen this early in the game.  We’ve already been to Karaoke twice, have plans to go bowling soon and seen Alice in Wonderland in Japanese with a group of girls and my conversation partner.  It’s really surprising how quickly they are willing to open up to me and become my friend based solely on the fact that I’m desperately trying to learn they’re language.  It helps of course that all Japanese students are required to take 6 years of English in middle and high school, so everyone has at least SOME english skill.  It’s come in handy more than once when I can’t think of a word and I just have to ask “Nihongo de (insert english word here) wa nan to imasu ka?” and they know what I’m talking about.

Me and my friend, Yuta.

The culture trip so far was amazing.  We went and saw the reconstructed Nagoya Castle, which is an old traditional style castle that has been reconstructed into a museum.  The view from the top of the 5 story monster was pretty great, especially with the Sakura trees in full bloom.  Definitely memories I won’t easily forget.

Coming up I have “Golden week” : a weeks worth of National Holidays that everyone gets off of school and work.  This is hopefully where a bulk of my travel is going to happen, as I shouldn’t have to worry about silly things like school and homework during this week.  A friend and I are planning a trip to Kyoto; the capitol of Japan for more than 1,000 years before it switched to Tokyo.  I’m sure that we won’t be bored in the slightest, and I’ll be sure to take plenty of pictures.

Everything else has been pretty normal, or at least as normal as things can be when you are six thousand miles away from what you’ve considered normal for 20 years.  There are plenty of good things coming my way I can tell, and I’m ready to meet them head on.

 

For more pictures and adventures you can check out my personal blog at http://benholschuh.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

