Salisbury, Stonehenge, and Old Sarum by: Rachel Csaszar

I have recently had my new “favorite day” in the UK. Notice, I didn’t say London. That is because we escaped the city limits by hopping on a National Rail train to the town of Salisbury, about an hour and a half outside of London.

Once we got off of the train, we immediately hopped on a double-decker bus that took us to Stonehenge.

I’ve seen pictures of Stonehenge a million times, but I never thought I would actually end up staring at it in person. It was incredible, and although you can’t get too close to the rocks, I was thoroughly impressed with the sight. There is just something so impressive about the history of England and how old everything is.

While we were waiting for the bus to come back, four of us climbed up on top of a burial mound that is part of the hundreds that are scattered all over the Salisbury area. From the top of the mound, the view was absolutely incredible. I was literally speechless…all I could do was stand and stare off into the rolling green hills. It looked like something out of a movie, and unfortunately I don’t think any of the pictures I took really did it justice.

From there, the bus took us to Old Sarum, which includes ruins of an old castle on an enormous mound. It took us about an hour to walk up it, and along the way we could see the entire town of Salisbury and the beautiful surroundings as we followed the winding path. It was breathtaking as well, and even though a giant black cloud decided to hover over us dumping rain for a few minutes, it was worth getting soaked to see the views.

After that, we took the bus back into town and spent a little time exploring the adorable Salisbury. We went into the cathedral, which was insanely gorgeous, shopped at the little boutiques, and wandered around the parks and winding streets for a couple of hours before catching the train back to London.

I’ve decided that if I ever move to England, I would love to live in a town like Salisbury, preferably closer to the city. I would love to have the country and city life at my fingertips, and I realized I find the English countryside completely enchanting. It was a magical day, and I couldn’t stop smiling. It was a much-needed break from the city, and I’m so glad I could experience it.

Up next in my adventures: Rome and Paris!

If you want to follow Rachel Csaszar’s personal blog, it can be found at http://www.csaszarinlondon.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

