Busy busy busy…. with fun! by Ben Holschuh

Whew! these past few weeks have been getting a little hectic.  The exam that I came here to take for Japanese Language Proficiency is swiftly approaching, and our teachers have been drilling us like there’s no tomorrow, but I still have some time to relax with friends and enjoy my experience.

It wasn’t until a couple of days ago that I really began to realize how much my stay here has not only affected my language skills, but also me as a person.  I’ve become so accustomed to the way things are here that I’ll probably have American culture shock when I come back.  I’ll definitely miss the public transportation, much of the food, and many of the services that you just can’t get back home.

But now I’m just being too serious; this is supposed to be about interesting experiences after all, and I can’t think of anything more interesting lately than my visit to Denny’s with a couple of my Japanese friends.  Yes, they do have Denny’s in Japan, but it’s no where near what you think.  At least it was no where near what I thought.  The menu was completely different with the only breakfast foods appearing to be french toast.  There were pancakes, but they were on the dessert menu, and breakfast meats such as bacon and sausage were nowhere to be found.  Honestly, I ended up having one of their limited specials: the Spicy South African Curry.  It was delicious but definitely NOT what I expected to eat going into a Denny’s for the first time in months.

I have plenty more plans ahead of me: plans of studying, plans of vacations, plans with friends, and plans with school.  There really never is a dull moment here, and even though everyone at OU is already on their summer vacation, I can’t think of any place I’d rather be than right where I am doing exactly what I’m doing.

Leave a Reply

