Cheers, Cheerio and Cheerios by Kristen Spicker

I love London. It’s that simple. After only five days of living in the city I have already been tempted to cancel my lease for next year in Athens and take up permanent residence in the United Kingdom. Every morning I wake up and look outside my bedroom window and sigh from the sheer joy of staying in such an astounding city.

When I began packing for my stay across the pond, multiple people warned me of the grey skies, rain and cold weather. So far, that’s the exact opposite of what I’ve experienced. As I’m typing this, it’s 55 degrees and sunny. Dead serious. It hasn’t been under 50 degrees since I’ve arrived and it rained only a little bit for one day.

London has to be one of the prettiest cities in the Spring. Even though it’s an industrialized city, there is still a lot of green space with small parks located on nearly every other corner. Plus, the buildings and architecture are absolutely gorgeous. The British have done an excellent job at preserving old buildings, so while walking down a street, it’s fairly common to pass a building where a lord or chancellor used to live.

It’s bizarre to consider how old London is, especially compared to the United States. There is just so much history and culture down every street. While on a bus tour (where my camera unfortunately wasn’t working), I passed everything from new attractions like the Millennium Bridge, feature in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part One, and the London Eye to older ones such as the Tower of London and Westminster Abbey.

One thing that I didn’t realize about London is that it’s like the New York City of Europe. I didn’t automatically assume that every person I ran into would be a Londoner, but I figured it would be a high majority. However, it’s very much a melting pot of other nationalities. I hear a new accent every day, and from actual working citizens of England, not just tourists. Even better, the people are rather lovely. Although I don’t have to experience a language difference, the accents are enough to make simple sentences and words sound foreign. Thankfully, everyone I’ve spoken to has been understanding and helpful, even though I’m sure they were sick of my blank face and constant “What?” “Sorry,” and “Can you repeat that?”

Though it’s early in my stay, I already know that choosing to study in London is easily the best decision I’ve made since coming to Ohio University. In less than a week, I’ve already learned and experienced so much more than I would’ve expected. I’d love to blog more, but the park outside my flat that’s covered in picnic blankets and sunlight is calling my name.

Cheerio!

One thought on “Cheers, Cheerio and Cheerios by Kristen Spicker

  1. Glad you are enjoying it! I agree with you that most people don’t understand what a multicultural/multilingual city it is. Last time I went I got on the train and all I could here was Russian and Hindi! Great City!

Leave a Reply

