The night before Florence

A whopping 13 hours remains until I leave the United States to embark on possibly (and hopefully) will be one of the most exciting adventures of my life.

My bags are packed (kind of), my passport is ready to go (I think), and the nerves are starting to set in (definitely).

This afternoon, I discovered that my international cell phone, which was provided through my OU program and was supposed to have arrived weeks ago, was not, in fact, in Monongahela.

Hi, life? This is Devin speaking. Where’s the “reverse three weeks and fix this problem” button?

After a brief but dramatic hit of the panic button, I calmed down and called my sister. She assured me that I could buy a pay-as-you-go phone in Italy, and I calmed down quite a bit.

After all, how am I supposed to give “The Situation” my number in Florence if I don’t have a phone!? …just kidding.

But in all seriousness, it took a lot of time today to make sure I was ready to leave. I created a map of my apartment, my school, and some other key locations on Google Maps and sent it to my mom. I also sent her a copy of my passport and my schedule to her email in case something happened. Then, I took all of my important “cards” (OU identification, license, debit cards from both my Ohio and Pennsylvania banks, my study abroad medical insurance card) and copied both the front and back so she’d have a copy.

The clock is ticking and I’m still packing away. And I don’t even get to sleep in because I’m going to Eat n’ Park (classic Pittsburgh favorite) with basically my entire family before I leave. I won’t lie, as fearless as I usually am (or try to be), the idea of saying “Later, America!” is starting to freak me out. I’m excited to go abroad with 14 other OU students, but still nervous about a very evident language barrier.

I’m worrying, but I know that tomorrow I’ll be more excited than anything! Even though I don’t have any way of contacting the US if I get lost during my layover in Frankfurt or something ridiculous…. YIKES!

Speaking of getting lost, my sister, who is very aware of my mediocre sense of direction, mailed me lots of things to make sure it is near IMPOSSIBLE for me to get lost in Florence.  (…that’s what SHE thinks…)

Can’t wait for tomorrow! I have to get some sleep!!

Leave a Reply

