1 Week Aussie by Anna Moore

I have lived a week in Australia. I am one Australian week older. Do I feel any different? Well, my feet are still cold from the damp chill in the air. Do I look any different? Mirroring the winter fashion of Aussie natives, I bought some black jeans, leather boots, and top every outfit with a slouchy beanie I found on the sidewalk. Don’t worry, I washed it.


look how hip I am in my trendy loft with exposed brick… in a sidewalk-beanie )

I would like to believe that when you travel thousands and thousands of miles away from home, you evolve. But truth is, it’s the same old me. I still get tired, and hungry, and restless even though I am living my dream. The romance and nonstop inspiration that is synonymous with a semester abroad feels different than I had daydreamed. My enchantment of being here comes in small, intense flashes- in moments when I realize I that I am in Australia. For example: *Discovering that my American accent is hard for locals to understand

*Seeing a rainbow over the Pacific Ocean for the 4th time in one week

* Getting woken up by pterodactyl sounds that are just the local birds.

*Watching in terror when boys in their wetsuits jump into the ocean in the middle of a windy rainstorm. No, they are not committing suicide; they have just grown up surfing, and won’t let a little 30 mph wind and torrential downpour stop them.

This place is nothing like I expected, but what in life is?

Also… This just struck me. I am the first person of my ancestry who has ever stepped foot on this continent.

I am a stranger to every soul I pass on the sidewalk Each tiny decision; coffee or tea, say hello or keep walking will inevitably change who I meet and who I’ll become these next few months.

Its all a little overwhelming.

What if I don’t meet that one person, or find that one restaurant, or discover that hidden beach I was meant to love? These “what if’s” leave me anxious.

I am only scared that I won’t do and see everything I am meant to.  But really- every choice we make is what was “meant to be.”  It is impossible to screw up fate, so no worries mate.

I am so blessed to be here in this beautiful country that is both the driest continent in the world, and has forests bigger than Texas. A nation that was settled by convicts, yet is the most civilized and welcoming place I have ever been.

Time to use the gift of this country to the fullest.

One thought on “1 Week Aussie by Anna Moore

  1. Just read your latest post and now this one. Really like your writing, looking forward to reading much more about Australia and it’s Strians 🙂

Leave a Reply

