Big Fat 20

Today I did it. I ran the furthest I have ever run

And the furthest I will run until the Sydney marathon.

The Big Fat 20- that massive serving of mileage that has been stamped on my training calendar for 11 weeks, looming in my future, sure to annihilate my body and mind.

Well hey- it’s done! Better than done, I ate it up!

I don’t know why, but this morning, I felt phenomenal! Maybe it was the 5 a.m. hot bowl of oats- peanut butter and honey, (or they few swigs of Victorian Bitter I had last night)…


I think the energy boost from was the joy of stumbling upon the bush trails of Glenrock Nature Reserve.

Channeling those Pochahontas running powers- skipped down the dense gum tree trails, I knew I was in Australia. The woods are QUITE different here…. No whispering pines- more like SCREAMING eucalyptus.  The native birds are outrageous, and I found myself  laughing out loud to the birdy-banter.  Some sound like pterodactyls, but most sound like tortured infants. Lovely sounds, really.

Channeling those Pochahontas running powers- skipped down the dense gum tree trails, I knew I was in Australia. The woods are QUITE different here…. No whispering pines- more like SCREAMING eucalyptus.  The native birds are outrageous, and I found myself  laughing out loud to the birdy-banter.  Some sound like pterodactyls, but most sound like tortured infants. Lovely sounds, really.

Cockatoos outside.. a piece of Australia from David Levy on Vimeo.
Another reason for this morning’s awesomeness was the addition of tunes my routine.  I keep trying to be a “pure runner”- you know, less shoe, less technology, more nature and back to basics, good ol’ running. But sometimes you need Lady Gaga’s Born This Way to get up that huge- ass hill.

Today twas with a playlist for the ages….

Anna’s Running Anthems.

-Born This Way – Lady GaGa

– Little Secrets- Passion Pit

– Superbass- Nicki Minaj

-Sleigh Bells – Kids

– Springstein – Born in the USA

etc…

A brilliantly clear Aussie-sky and endless ocean view makes running for 3 hours quite nice. (View overlooking Bar Beach- one of my favorite routes!)

Even though it is 6.2 miles less than the real deal- it is the still a looonnnggg time to be running and I would like to thank

Jonas Linders-

my Danish running coach- for joining me for a few miles.  After getting lost in the bush, I was over an hour late- but he waited for me… What a “flink fyr”  ( nice guy in Danish I think?)

Leave a Reply

