Serendipity In Sydney

You get off the train at Sydney’s central station and feel the pulse of the city- a low rumbling of ferry boats, the humming of digeredoo street performers, and a buzz of laughter

Then you see it.  Sydney Harbor and it is like you are the only person in the world.

For the first time I realized- holy cow. I am in Australia.

I am living my dream.

I am the luckiest girl in the world.

It hit me even harder when I saw that bridge- the bridge I will be running across in 32 days.

That bridge is my Lady Liberty- a symbol of everything I have been working for and dreaming of since that 6th grade research report on Australia. That bridge is what I am running toward, and what will carry me to my #1 on the Bucket List- RUN A MARATHON.

(Opera house upclose!)

This weekend was a weekend of 1sts.

1st time to Sydney

1st Stay in a hostel

1st time running the historical City to Surf-

Wikipedia’s definition…

City2Surf (or City to Surf) is a popular road running event held annually in SydneyAustralia covering a 14 kilometres (8.7 mi) course. The event is a “fun run” as well as a race, attracting both serious runners and community participants who can choose to run or to walk. The largest timed running race in the world,[1] the event attracts more than 80,000 entrants who start in staggered groups based on previous running times and early entry.

The 14 km route taken by the participants passes through the suburbs of Kings CrossRushcutters BayDouble BayRose BayVaucluseDover Heights and Bondi Beach. The most difficult part of the course is “Heartbreak Hill” at the halfway mark, a 2km long steep ascent from Rose Bay to Vaucluse along New South Head Road

My Definition…

The City to Surf is a re-donk-ulously huge race in Sydney where thousands of folks run dress up and run wild for charity… ‘Heartbreak Hill’ is NO match to the hills of Athens OH!  Also, it is the first race with NO FREE FOOD for participants after finishing! I couldn’t believe it!

…. Paid $4.oo for this bad boy.  And look-American mustard! *Snag= Aussie for sausage*Thank you Angela Holmes for finding me a bib- thank you to the Hello Sunday Morning crew who let me run for their organization and fed me LOADS of Thaifood-and thank you to Rowenna Grant – the girl who I ran the race as after her ankle injury

Start…..

FINISH!!!

Leave a Reply

