Vietnam and Ecuador…next is Zambia!

Bethany Scott (@Bethany2012) is a senior, public relations major. She is one of the peer advisers for the Office of Education Abroad, and it’s her second year in this position. Peer advisers provide information to students about education abroad opportunities during the OEA walk-in advising hours 1-4 p.m. on Monday-Friday. They also present general education abroad information to classes, residence halls, student organizations, and during orientation sessions, fairs and information sessions as needed. Stop by the Walter International Education Center, 15 Park Place to meet Bethany!

Studying abroad changed my life, and I cannot stress enough how much I love my job because it allows me to guide students toward their study abroad goals.

Since beginning college, I have traveled abroad to two countries: Ecuador and Vietnam. This upcoming winter, I will be studying abroad in Zambia and completing a journalism program. From jumping off of waterfalls, volunteering at a children’s orphanage to having an anaconda wrapped around my neck in the Amazon, I have done things abroad that have surpassed my wildest dreams. Through my study abroad experiences, I have not only grown as a person and become more independent, but I have also become more appreciative of my life in the United States. Before studying abroad, I did not realize how fortunate I was.

Every study abroad experience that I have had has been amazing; however, there are definitely some that stand out more than others. Some of my favorite memories include: hiking in the Andes mountains, spending 12 days in the Amazon rainforest, a seven-hour snorkeling tour in Vietnam that only cost $20 a person and having dinner with one of my Vietnamese teammates’ family.

Aside from working at the Office of Education Abroad, I am also active in PRSSA (Public Relations Student Society of America), ImPRessions, a nationally affiliated student-run PR firm at OHIO, and recently volunteering at the Athens County Dog Shelter! I have had two PR internships at Nationwide Children’s Hospital and O’Bleness Memorial, and am hoping to work in a PR department in either a non-profit or hospital when I graduate.

From studying abroad, I have realized that what I am capable of accomplishing and how important it is to be open-minded and accepting of all cultures. One never know where life may take them. All through high school, I had envisioned myself working in a law office, and now I am considering so many different options because I have realized though studying abroad that it’s not about money that makes a person happy! Stop in and see me in the study abroad office!

Bethany is leaving for Zambia after Thanksgiving! Visit her next quarter to hear about her adventures and learn where your travels can take you too.

Leave a Reply

